The Government of India sent a proposal in August 2018 to declare the Pink City, Jaipur as a UNESCO World Heritage. There are 37 World Heritage Sites in Rajasthan, including Chittorgarh Fort, Kumbhalgarh, Jaisalmer, Ranthambore and Gagaron Fort.

The city of Jaipur was founded by Raja Jai ​​Singh in the year 1727.

UNESCO has handed over the formal certificate of ‘World Heritage City’ to Pink City Jaipur on 05 February 2020 UNESCO Director General Andre Azole gave this proof of Jaipur to Urban Development Minister Shanti Dhariwal in a ceremony held in Albert Hall Letter assigned

jaipur city award
Jaipur gets World Heritage City certificate

UNESCO team visited Diwan-i-Aam, Diwan-i-Khas, Sheesh Mahal, Mansingh Mahal and Amer Fort, UNESCO Director General Andre Ajole described Amber Fort as a reminder of the past

Read: About World Heritage City ….

UNESCO World Heritage Sites are called such special places (eg forest area, mountains, lakes, deserts, monuments, buildings or cities etc.), they are selected by the World Heritage Committee, this committee also oversees these sites with the help of UNESCO. is

Each heritage site is the property of the country in which the place is located, but it is in the interest of the international community to protect them for the benefit of humanity, UNESCO believes that the entire world community for its protection According to the official website of UNESCO, there are six cultural and four natural criteria for the selection of a World Heritage Site.

The objective of this program is to select and preserve such places of the world which are important for humanity in terms of world culture, in certain circumstances this committee also gives financial assistance to such sites.

Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply